5 Love Languages and How They Translate For You.

If you have ever taken a foreign language course, you are very familiar with the difficulties of translating. When something is translated into another language and translated back into the original language, the original meaning is lost.

Such is also the case when a book is made into a movie or a movie into a book. Due to the differences between the two mediums, details such as length and dialogue are lost.

In both forms, the original meaning cannot be perfectly translated word-for-word into the other language or medium. Of the countless ways we can show love to one another, everyone has a love language, and

We all identify primarily with one of the five love languages:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Receiving Gifts

4. Acts of Service

5. Physical Touch



In honor of this Valentine’s Day, what better way to enhance your love life than by taking Dr. Chapman’s world-famous Love Language quiz?

Not only are you finding out more about yourself, but it is also a way to build lasting relationships with those around you — whether it be as a partner, a parent, a sibling or a friend. We all know communication is vital for a healthy relationship — but we overlook the languages communication can come in.




Related: 5 Signs He’s Just Not That Into You…

Related: The Other Third Wheel: Surviving Your BFF’s Significant Other

Love comes in many different forms and this is reflective of the many different languages love can be expressed in.

After being married one year, I’m not sure I’m “in love” anymore. Where could we have gone wrong?
This is the same question I was asking the first year of my marriage. I had been told that if you are really “in love” it will last forever. I was misinformed.

The fact is that the emotional obsession, which we commonly call “falling in love,” is a temporary experience.

The fact is that the emotional obsession, which we commonly call “falling in love,” is a temporary experience. The fact is that the emotional obsession, which we commonly call “falling in love,” is a temporary experience. Research indicates that the average life span of this “in love” phase is two years. Since we fall in love before we get married, most couples are coming down off the high within the first year of their marriage. We no longer feel those warm bubbly feelings, and we no longer think that our spouse is perfect. In fact we are realizing that we are so different, and we are wondering, “How did we ever get together?”

Almost never does a husband and wife have the same love language.

Then begins the second and more important phase of love: learning how to speak each other’s love language. My book The Five Love Languages has helped thousands of couples make this transition. The basic idea is that each of us has a primary love language. Almost never does a husband and wife have the same love language. In order to keep emotional love alive after we come down off the “in love” high, we must learn to speak each other’s language. The five love languages are words of affirmation, gifts, acts of service, quality time, and physical touch. Once you make this transition, you will each feel loved, and you will hardly even miss the “in love” high. Your emotional love tank will be filled by your spouse’s regular expressions of love. To discover your primary love language, see The Five Love Languages. (excerpt from Dr. Chapman’s website)

We all speak different love languages. Often, we define others by viewing them as ‘incompatible’ when in reality, it is just miscommunication. A successful relationship is the result of communicating to get to the point where you understand each other when the both of you speak the same love language. That way, it feels effortless to express yourself without relinquishing your love to communication lost in translation. It becomes easier to be able to satisfy your partner’s needs and not put in what satisfies your own needs into your partner because it may not be what they need from you.

Do you and your Sig Fig speak the same language?


Sabrina Ahmed | Bright Futura Columnist

Remember to follow Bright Futura on FacebookTwitter, or you can subscribe to our RSS feed.

2 Comments on “5 Love Languages and How They Translate For You.

  1. Learning a second language is very tough indeed. I've difficult time learning Spanish at the first period when I've joined course. Inspiration is plays key role to overcome educating a second language and I'm quite pleased learn some educative lessons regarding 5 love languages and how they translate. Thanks.

  2. Great allocation I must admit! Five languages and how they translate for you mentioned views are indeed educative for me and I've quite enjoyed learning valuable resources regarding learning language. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>